Baramulla Man Recounts How Delhi Police Ruined His Career

Posted on

Image result for Gulzar Ahmad WaniGulzar Ahmad Wani, who was acquitted by a court in Uttar Pradesh in a case of blast on a train in 2001 reached his home in Tappar Bala, Baramulla district.

According to media sources, hundreds of local residents thronged Gulzar Ahmad Wani’s place to congratulate the family.

“I have seen him growing in front of my eyes. His 16 years of illegal detention has devastated his family. He is a noble soul and one can never imagine him doing what he was accused of,” says Fatima, an elderly woman, who visited the family.

“What can be better than being with one’s family in this holy month again? A lot has changed here. Many people I knew are no more and there are new faces in our family and the neighbourhood,” said Gulzar Ahmad Wani.

Gulzar Ahmad Wani, 28 then, in a media interview said that the infamous Special Cell of Delhi police arrested him on July 30, 2001 from Kamla Nehru Market, Uttar Pradesh, when he was on his way to Aligarh Muslim University where he was pursuing PhD in Arabic.

“Fifteen cases were framed against me including the blast on the Sabarmati Express. The court had acquitted me of all charges but I was jailed for 16 years for the crime I never committed. Who will give me back those precious years of my life?” he questioned.

“I focused on my studies and qualified the National Eligibility Test twice but the Special Cell of Delhi police destroyed my career,” said Gulzar. He said that delayed trials were the primary reason behind prolonged detention of Kashmiri youth.

Additional sessions Judge MA Khan, in his judgment acquitting Gulzar, has said, “The lives of students had been deliberately spoiled by filing a charge-sheet without any proof. Without proper legal sanctions, cognizance of the case was taken illegally.”

Leave a Reply

